Shania Twain and More – Billboard

Shania Twain, Brad Paisley, Hillary Lindsey, Kirk Franklin and Pam Tillis are among the nominees at the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, the organization announced Tuesday, June 28.

This year’s nominees in the contemporary songwriter category are Larry Cordle, Jim Lauderdale, Lindsey, Frank J. Myers, Gary Nicholson, Ronnie Rogers, Tia Sillers and Tommy Sims.


See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

The nominees in the songwriter/contemporary artist category are Franklin, Paisley, Tillis and Twain.

“We congratulate all of this year’s nominees in our contemporary categories and look forward to early August when we announce those who will be inducted as members of our Class of 2022,” NaSHOF Executive Director Mark Ford said in a statement. .

This year’s winners will be announced at a later date and will be honored at the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame 52nd Anniversary Gala scheduled for October 30, 2022 at the Music City Center in Nashville.

All of the nominees had their first meaningful songs at least two decades ago. Two songwriters and one artist-songwriter will be voted into the categories by members of the Hall of Fame, along with other professional songwriters and artists from various genres, who are clearly identified with Nashville and who have written or co -writes at least one original and significant Nashville song. In addition, two more will be named to the class of 2022. A separate group of veteran voters will elect a veteran songwriter and a veteran songwriter/artist, both of whom had their first major songs at least 30 years ago. year. Nominees in these categories are not announced.

Cordle’s first two hits came courtesy of childhood friend Ricky Skaggs, who scored hits with “Highway 40 Blues” in 1983 and “Two Highways” in 1984 (“Two Highways” also became a hit for Alison Krauss in 1990). Cordle was named Songwriter of the Year by SPBGMA in 2001, 2019 and 2020. He is known for his songs, including the 2001 CMA Song of the Year “Murder on Music Row” recorded by George Strait and Alan Jackson ( a song that Cordle and his band Lonesome Standard Time previously won IBMA Song of the Year 2000 honors and SPBGMA Song of the Year honors in 2001). He is also a writer on John Anderson’s “Honky Tonk Crowd”, Diamond Rio’s “Mama Don’t Forget to Pray For Me”, and more.

Lauderdale is known for writing songs such as Mark Chesnutt’s “Gonna Get a Life”, Patty Loveless’ “Halfway Down” and a string of hits for George Strait including “When Did You Stop Loving Me” and “What Do You Say To That”. “As a recording artist, Lauderdale scored bluegrass hits like “Mighty Lonesome.” He received the Americana Music Association Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016.

Lindsey scored her first hit in 2002 with Martina McBride’s “Blessed” and co-wrote Carrie Underwood’s “Jesus Take The Wheel,” which won a 2006 Grammy for Best Country Song, as well as honors for ASCAP Country Song of the Year, NSAI Song of the Year and ACM Single of the Year. Underwood recorded nearly 40 of Lindsey’s songs, including “Wasted” and “So Small.” Lindsey has also penned hits such as Little Big Town’s “Girl Crush” and Keith Urban’s “Blue Ain’t Your Color.” Lindsey was named ACM Songwriter of the Year in 2019, 2020 and 2021.

Myers wrote hits such as “Bayou Boys” and “I Got Mexico” for Eddy Raven, as well as “You and I”, recorded by Eddie Rabbitt and Crystal Gayle. He is also the author of “I Swear”, the 1994 CMA single of the year recorded by John Michael Montgomery. The song went on to become a pop music hit for pop/R&B group All-4-One. Myers’ catalog of songs also includes Lonestar’s “I’m Already There” (2002 ASCAP and BMI Country Song of the Year winner), as well as Chris Young’s “Tomorrow”, which was named a SESAC Country Song. of the year in 2011.

Nicholson is known for writing songs such as Charley Pride’s “The Power of Love”, Don Williams’ “That’s the Thing About Love”, T. Graham Brown’s “Brilliant Conversationalist” and Vince Gill’s “One More Last Chance”. His song “Fallin’ and Flyin'” was performed by Jeff Bridges and Colin Farrell in the 2009 film mad heart. Nicholson was inducted into the Texas Heritage Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2011.

Rogers’ catalog includes Tanya Tucker’s “It’s a Cowboy Lovin’ Night”, Ed Bruce’s “My First Taste of Texas” and several songs recorded by country band Alabama, including “Dixieland Delight”, “Pass It On Down” and “Give Me One More Shot.” Rogers also co-wrote Brooks & Dunn’s “Only in America”, as well as Mark Chesnutt’s “Blame It On Texas” and “Goin’ Through the Big D”, as well as songs recorded by Toby Keith, George Strait , Dierks Bentley and Sequel.

Sillers is known for smash hits, including Lee Ann Womack’s “I Hope You Dance,” which won a 2000 Grammy for Best Country Song and was named CMA Song and Single of the Year that same year. Sillers also contributed to “There Your Trouble” by The Chicks, “That’d Be Alright” by Alan Jackson and “Heaven, Heartache and the Power of Love” by Trisha Yearwood.

Sims scored his first No. 1 hits as a writer with Amy Grant, with “Helping Hand” and “Children of the World.” His song “RIOT (Righteous Invasion of Truth)”, recorded by Carman, won GMA Dove Rap/Hip-Hop Song of the Year. He also contributed to Eric Clapton’s “Change the World,” and the song won a Grammy for Best Song and Record of the Year. Sims’ other country songs include Bryan White’s “Love is the Right Place”, Garth Brooks’ “Lost in You” and more.

Comments are closed.