One of these 62 songwriters will win the first Grammy for Songwriter of the Year

The list of 62 songwriters or songwriting teams vying for the new Grammy Award for Songwriter of the Year, Non-Classical includes major names such as Desmond Child, James Fauntleroy, Nathalie Hemby, Hillary Lindsey, Shane McAnally, Julia Michaels and justin trater.

It also includes a few surprises. The dreamwho had two top five albums on the Billboard 200 in 2009-10, and Michael Wilson Hardy, who records as ROBUST, are both eligible. This award was specifically designed to celebrate songwriters who primarily write for other artists, rather than songwriters who are also artists or producers.

More from Billboard


Jack Antonoff, Taylor Swift, Dan Nigro and Lin-Manuel Miranda

Jack Antonoff, Taylor Swift, Dan Nigro and Lin-Manuel Miranda

These Major Artists May Not Be Eligible for Songwriter of the Year – Here’s Why


So how did they make the list? The work featured by The-Dream this year focused on his work as a songwriter for Beyoncé, Brent Fayiaz and Pusha T. Hardy’s entries include songs for artists such as Blake Shelton and Brantley Gilbert with Jason Aldean. HARDY is only featured as an artist in one of his entries (“Down to the Bar” by Cole Swindell).

A team of songwriters are signed up – Denisia “Blue June” Andrews and Brittany “Chi” Coney, who make up the record production and songwriting duo Nova Wav. They submitted songs they wrote for Mary J. Blige and Beyoncé.

The eligibility list includes nine Grammy – The-Dream winners (five price), Fauntleroy (four), Jason Ingram (three), Lindsey (three), McAnally (three), Hemby (two), David Leonard (two), Jonathan Smith (two) and Edgar Barrera (a).

Most eligible songwriters have submitted credits reflecting their work with multiple artists, to show off their range. But three of the writers show single-artist credits — Steve Cooper (The Group Fire), Ed Miranti (Vischious Fishious), and Adam Garzilli (Adam King).

four of Ryan HurdThe credits submitted by are for songs he wrote for his wife, Maren Morris, but he also has a credit for Jordan Davis. The most of JozzyCredits are for work with Latto, although the writer also has credit for Beyoncé.

Lauren Christy is inscribed with songs she has written for artists such as Korn and Jenn Bostic. Christy was nominated for Producer of the Year (Non-Classical) in 2003 as part of The Matrix (starring Graham Edwards and Scott Spock).

This new category is analogous to Producer of the Year, Non-Classical, which was introduced in 1974. Thom Bell, one of Philadelphia’s soul sound architects, was the first winner in this category. The Recording Academy should be lucky to have such an esteemed first winner in this category.

First-round voting in this category and all Grammy categories began on Thursday, October 13 and will continue through October 23. The nominees will be announced on November 15. Voting in the final round will take place from December 14 to January 4, 2023. The winners will be revealed during the 65th edition Grammy Awards on February 5, 2023.

Here are the 62 songwriters who are up for Songwriter of the Year. They are listed in alphabetical order.

Sarah Aaron

Andy Albert

Amy Allen

Denisia “Blu June” Andrews and Brittany “Chi” Coney (of Nova Wav)

Edgar Barrera

Evan Kidd Bogart

Nija Charles

Desmond Child

Lauren Christy

Steve Cooper

Kat Dahlia

Sean Douglas

Tom Douglas

Ed Miranti

James Fauntleroy

Omer Fedi

Douglas Ford

James Aaron Foster

Edgar Galeano

Adam Garzilli

Nathalie Nicole Gilbert

Andrew Goldstein

Ashley Gorley

Michel Wilson Hardy

Joyce V Harrison

Scott Harris

Nathalie Hemby

Cory Henry

Jacob “Jkash” Hindlin

Sarah Hudson

Ethan Hulse

Ryan Hurd

Jason Ingram


Tobias Jesso Jr.

steph jones


David Leonard

Hillary Lindsey

Nathalie Litza

Marcus Lomax

Madison Love

Shane McAnally


Julia Michaels

Kayla Morisson

Michael Pollack

Helen Rose

Tia Scola

Shekinah Grace Moyes

jonathan smith

Skyler Stonestreet

Ali Tamposi

The dream

Theron Thomas

Jacques Torrey

justin trater

Laura Velz

Billy Walsh

Besy Walter

Emily Warren

Victoria “Ryann” Zaro

Click here to read the full article.

Comments are closed.