Kickstarter from the creators of Wild Arms and Shadow Hearts adds Final Fantasy and the composers of SaGa

The “World’s first double Kickstarter” campaign, currently led by the developers of cult PlayStation RPGs Wild Arms and Shadow Hearts, has added two legendary RPG composers to the project.

The single campaign, which has achieved its goal, raises funds for the development of two separate games – Armed Fantasia and Penny Blood. Each is a spiritual successor to the PlayStation games in question.

In a new update, it has been revealed that Final Fantasy composer Nobuo Uematsu and SaGa series composer Kenji Ito are now both involved in the development of one of the two games, Penny Blood.

Penny Blood – gameplay clip | VGC

Penny Blood – a spiritual JRPG successor to Shadow Hearts that promises to tap into the same gothic horror setting – is set around the world, and it’s now been confirmed that the two composers will help with the music in different parts of the game. .

Specifically, Uematsu will “help research and understand authentic Irish music” for the game’s American locations, while Ito “will help create the authentic sounds of Japanese locations”.

The other game from the Kickstarter double, Armed Fantasia, is a new RPG that pays homage to the westernpunk aesthetic of PS1 title Wild Arms.

The country gives funders the option to support one or both titles, with broad goals benefiting both.

As of this writing, the campaign has raised $1.9 million, surpassing its goal of $690,000, and will end on September 30 at 12:50 p.m. ET / 5:50 p.m. BST.

To celebrate the success of the campaign, a wrap-up broadcast will take place live in Tokyo on September 30 at 9 a.m. ET / 2 p.m. BST and will include interviews, special guests, creator challenges and new music.

A special “Golden Ticket” concert will also take place on October 1 at 6 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. BST and will feature a “surprise special guest.” This concert can only be viewed by campaign contributors.

Wild Arms creator Akifumi Kaneko joins forces with other Wild Arms veterans to create Armed Fantasia, while Shadow Hearts creator Matsuzo Machida leads game design on Penny Blood.

Speaking to VGC at the campaign launch last month, the pair told us, “Central Connective Tissue are both games that JRPG fans love. It’s hard to say how many people have played both, but by combining the two games into one campaign, the goal is to raise awareness for both titles.

“None have been as popular as a Final Fantasy, so it’s two creators helping each other in an effort for both to succeed.”

Comments are closed.