Shortlisted artists and songwriters

Image credit / SBS

Every year for ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’, SBS and Blink TV receive hundreds and hundreds of songs from artists, songwriters and musicians that are submitted to the portal and ultimately selected for the Australian National Final of Eurovision.

This year, there were 700 song submissions on the song portal. With only 11 songs selected to compete in Eurovision – Australia decides this year, a LOT of songs will unfortunately be missing.

Since the first Australia Decides in 2019, SBS has revealed which songs made the shortlist.

Previously, Voyager and Jude York were featured in the 2020 “Eurovision – Australia Decides” segment of the shortlist and this year they became competing artists in the competition.

Let’s take a look at this year’s shortlisted songs and artists!

Angus Brill Reed – “Beginning at the End”

Angus Brill Reed was previously shortlisted for “Eurovision – Australia Decides” in 2019 with the song “Small Stuff”. This year, the young singer-songwriter from Adelaide has once again been shortlisted for Australia Decides with ‘Start At The End’. Angus has collaborated with ARIA award winner Peter Holz and won various national and international songwriting competitions.

On Saturday’s show, Angus said:

“I’ve grown a lot since I was shortlisted in 2019. My music is a lot more dance-oriented now. That track ‘Start At The End’ is awesome for Eurovision. It’s positive, it’s optimistic, it has this anthemic feel. I really hope you enjoy it.”

Devy – “I Have No Fakes”

Devy is a familiar face at Australia Decides. In 2020, at just nine years old, she opened the show and Kate Miller-Heidke’s performance of “Zero Gravity.” The singer and songwriter, now 11, recently won the St. Kilda Fest New Music Competition 2022. Devy also won the Australian Children’s Music Foundation’s National Song Writing Competition and was a semi-finalist in international songwriting competitions. His song “I Don’t Have A Fake” was selected for Australia Decides this year.

Elki – ‘Tiger’

Elki is an independent artist who released an EP in 2019 followed by sold-out concerts in Australia. Elki co-wrote “Paper Dragon” with Dami Im in 2020. “Paper Dragon” was supposed to be Dami’s entry for Australia Decides 2021, which of course didn’t happen due to the Covid pandemic.

This year, Elki was shortlisted with the song “Tiger”. On Saturday’s show, Elki said:

“We recorded me banging my lip gloss and my water bottle and all sorts of weird stuff to get conventional sounds for the groove and we went crazy with the vocals.”

Laura Clare – “Fearless”

Laura is a songwriter from the Gold Coast who submitted her song ‘Fearless’ to the song portal. She explained in the segment what her song was about: “It’s about reminding myself that no matter what I’ve been through, I was born fearless, so I can always stay fearless.”

Penrose – ‘Mars’

penrose is a 23-year-old pop artist from Sydney. She is a semi-finalist of the International Songwriting Competition 2021 with her song ‘A’. Penrose today released their music video for “Mars,” directed and filmed by Petey Boy. ‘Mars’ has been shortlisted for this year’s Australia Decides.

During the show, Penrose shared:

“For artists like me, this is the big break we’ve all worked so hard for. I know the little girl from Tamworth would be so proud to see the writer I’ve become.”

Congratulations to all the artists and songwriters shortlisted this year, hopefully we get to see them and their songs on the Australia Decides stage in the near future!

Comments are closed.